Reviews

9.3
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.4
Comfort
9.2
Property location
9.2
Facilities
9.0
Staff
10
Value
9.2

Reviews

    Lukas
    de

    Review score

    8.8
    13 June 2018
    - shower and toilet slightly too small - dust under the bed, but generally very clean
    - great hosts and services - top breakfast (individual choices) - driving service to chinese wall and spots around (e.g. we did cherry picking with our kids) - ornate interieur and exterieur - the dog ;-) - their friends restaurant (chinese dishes modern, appealing and very tastefully interpreted)
    Emma
    in

    Review score

    9.6
    29 May 2018

    Amazing and cosy guest house close to the great wall.

    -
    We loved staying at Flower Yard. Tony and Angel are incredible hosts, who went out of their way to make are stay very comfortable. The guest house is situated in a beautiful area, close to the great wall. The hosts showed us around and organised a wonderful hiking trip to the great wall. Breakfast was absolutely lovely and so was the restaurant around the corner.
    Alexiane
    sg

    Review score

    10
    22 May 2018

    Amazing !

    Angel and Tony are the greatest hosts ! they really took good care of us and we felt home the whole stay ! Thanks a lot !!
    José Emiliano
    es

    Review score

    10
    14 May 2018
    Owners are very familiar and friendly. Rooms and toilets are very clean. Bed confortable. Close to the hotel there is a fantastic Chinese restaurant. They approach you to Mutianyu Great Wall, buy the tickets and wait for you in the parking, a perfect service.
    Ane
    es

    Review score

    10
    14 May 2018

    Wonderful stay!!

    Our stay in Flower Yard was amazing. The location, the hotel and the room were great. Tony and Angel, the owners, and Oscar, the dog, were very nice to all of us. Tony drove the car to the Great Wall and waited for us to finish the visit. We will definitely come back!!
    Gaëlle
    cn

    Review score

    10
    7 May 2018

    Hapiness & welcom

    What a marvelous place. When you cross the door of this hotel, everything welcomes you. Angel and her husband, the garden with the beautiful roses, the tree in the middle of the place. You feel immediately home. The room is nicely decorated, the beds are comfortable. At any time, you will receive good advices for the dinner, the breakfast, kung fu show, professional driver, etc. Angel loves to share good time with her visitors. It's a fantastic place. I warmly recommend.
    Peter
    gb

    Review score

    10
    28 April 2018

    This place was really great.

    It was all great.
    Our hosts were extra friendly and went out of their way to ensure our stay was unforgettable. They made us feel really welcome and treated us as if we were their best friends. The accommodation itself, in a quiet courtyard, was perfectly clean and comfortable and brightly decorated. The breakfast was also tremendous.
    Lindsey
    us

    Review score

    10
    26 April 2018

    Amazing Great Wall experience!

    We only had one short night here but were blown away by the hospitality of the owners. They went out of their way to accommodate us. Their property is clean, well appointed, and the rooms are large. We rented out both rooms and the owners went out of their way to arrange a private guide to the Great Wall early the next morning as well as transfers to and from the airport. We saw the sun rise over the Great Wall which was majestic. I cannot recommend this place enough and I will be back! Thank you Flower Yard!
    Luanne
    ca

    Review score

    10
    22 April 2018

    A cozy quiet escape right at the foot of the Great Wall

    Loved everything about this place. Angela and Tony sets the bar for hospitality. Despite the unexpected cold snap with the weather, they provided enough warmth (literally and figuratively) to make us feel comfortable. Excellent breakfast along with a good coffee to keep your energy going. Tony's free offer to drive us to the Great Wall along with the many tips was very welcome. Oscar the dog was also just as warm and welcoming!
    Simon
    au

    Review score

    10
    21 April 2018

    Tony and Angel went above and beyond to make our stay one to remember. They are a very warm

    The hospitality was amazing. Outstanding breakfasts. Pick and drop offs whenever we needed them. Great company and advice. Very homely. Great recommendations.
    Hazy Dayz
    it

    Review score

    9.2
    6 April 2018

    A great warm welcome to the great China Wall

    The hosts, they were so accommodating. We didn’t even have for to ask for anything as they were always two steps ahead; tea & coffee when we arrived, arranging & buying our tickets for the Wall, transporting us to the Wall & back, toys for the kids, umbrellas when it snowed, pick up to & from the restaurant, the heating on when we returned, a lovely cooked breakfast plus fruit & toast in the morning & a car to take us home!! Amazing & genuinely kind people, thank you Tony & Angel
    Carol
    cn

    Review score

    10
    24 December 2017
    Angel and Tony are wonderful hosts. They treat you like family! I highly recommend a two night stay at Flower Yard. On the first day, Tony dropped me off at the entrance to the Great Wall at Mutianyu and came back to collect me a few hours later. On the second day, I went to the Lakeside Great Wall. I travelled by public bus and Tony and Angel drove me to the bus stop. They went out of their way to ensure I had everything I needed. Breakfasts were good and the room was very comfortable. I will return!
    Patrina
    sg

    Review score

    10
    9 June 2018

    A must stay place!

    This place is awesome! Quaint, eclectic and very clean! The owners are super nice and very helpful. They speak good English too. They have a 100 year old chestnut tree in the yard. Bonus : they have a 1.5 year old local breed doggie named Oscar who's super super playful. Good place for families, for groups, for anyone! Definitely a must to stay when you visit Mutianyu Great Wall!
    Nicolas
    cn

    Review score

    9.6
    4 June 2018

    Felt like staying with friends for the week end

    This a quiet place, cosy, nice looking courtyard built with love by their owners. Tony and Angel made us feel like we were staying at a friends place for the week end. There are several great wall options around, few restaurants, fishing spot if you are not it. We'll be back
    Melody
    us

    Review score

    10
    1 June 2018

    Wonderful Experience Near Great Wall

    Angel and Tony are totally amazing! They made us feel right at home. First of all, I got confused in our planning and arrived at their house one night later than planned! They were so kind and didn’t even tell me about it until the next morning. We are very lucky that they had a room available. We had been traveling around China for 2 weeks and this is by far the best place we have stayed! Tony gave us a ride to the Great Wall and even went in and purchased the tickets for us! They also had us picked up from the Great Wall when we had finished. Angel arranged to have a car pick us up from central Beijing and a return car to the city central. The breakfast was wonderful so “say yes to breakfast” if they offer! They are genuinely nice people and if we ever come back to Beijing, we will definitely plan to stay with them! The other benefit of styaying here is you can get to the Great Wall much earlier than those traveling from Beijing, allowing you pictures with immensely fewer people in them.
    Molly
    us

    Review score

    10
    5 May 2018
    Short trip to Great Wall. Spacious, clean, comfortable room. Beautifully decorated space with relaxing walled in outside courtyard. Get the breakfast if you are staying. Ask them about the restaurant within walking distance it was wonderful. Angel and Tony are wonderful hosts and facilitated arrangements for multiple activities and transportation for us. Highly recommend staying with these wonderful people.
    Robert
    qa

    Review score

    10
    4 May 2018

    Angel and Tony do a wonderful job of making you feel comfortable and welcome.

    Angel will design a breakfast to meet your desires and takes the time to ask you what you like! It was delicious! Our room was lovely, complete with beautiful artwork done by Tony. We were taken to the Great Wall by Tony and he purchased the tickets so we avoided the lines and then picked us up when we were done. It was such a peaceful spot to enjoy after touring Beijing. Angel and Tony are perfect hosts.
    Maggie
    ph

    Review score

    10
    10 April 2018

    Your Home Away From Home

    Our family of 5 had a most wonderful and relaxing time at Angel and Tony’s quaint Flower Yard. We received exceptional treatment from them as a couple - from the email exchanges Angel and I had prior to our arrival.. our on-time pick up from the airport by Angel’s husband, Tony... our amazing Great Wall Mutianyu experience which Angel and Tony smoothly facilitated for us... to the delicious complimentary breakfast they prepared every morning... and finally, driving us to Beijing Downtown - they were efficient, warm and accommodating. We enjoyed our stay with them so much and highly recommend the Flower Yard to those wishing to stay near the Mutianyu section of the Great Wall. It was truly a home away from home. 😍
    Ileana
    us

    Review score

    10
    25 November 2017

    Worth staying near the Great Wall to get there early.

    Angel and Tony made arrangements to have a car pick us up at the airport. Breakfast was included. Drove us to Great Wall in the morning. 10 minutes away from Great Wall.
    Faith Olinger
    us

    Review score

    10
    23 November 2017

    A GREAT Wall experience!

    We were welcomed guests of Angel and Tony. They looked after us as though we were their family, from beginning to end. First, I emailed about a driver to pick us up at airport, which I highly recommend, and An was there waiting for us. He took us right where we needed to go (the location is down an alley like road). They asked if we were hungry when we arrrived, and brought snacks along with requested hot water heater, teapot and cups for my tea craving (very accommodating). Next morning started with delicious breakfast, then Tony drove us to the Wall, got our tickets for us, pointed us in right direction, and picked us up when we were ready to return. Angel arranged for driver and tour guide to see some sites of the city the following day (as requested), and the driver drove us right to our next alley way boutique destination. Tony has some lovely art work, and don't forget to ask about the tea room. I purchased the teapot they sent over the first night. They did not mention the tea room until I asked where I might find a teapot like the one I used for the 2 days. If you like being cared about and looked after, and you want a Great Wall experience, this is the place. I hope to see them again! They are worth visiting!
Loading reviews