Reviews

9.5
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.6
Comfort
9.3
Property location
9.4
Facilities
9.2
Staff
10
Value
9.5

Reviews

    mee leng
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    23 September 2018

    Great stay near Great Wall!

    The king bed's blanket was a little small for us. But I am sure we could have ask to have another cover. We just didn't.
    Location and wonderful help from Tony and Angel to the Great wall. The breakfast with veggies, fruits, fried eggs and chicken nuggets were great for us. They gave us a larger room for 3 of us, really kind of them. Great value indeed.
    Andrea
    my

    Review score

    9.6
    12 September 2018

    A place of highlight for our Beijing trip, am glad to have chosen this house.

    The temple tourist place, doesn't worth visiting.
    What was said about the host was true - a very lovely and inspiring couple make the place special. The place was well equipped with all we need and clean. Am glad to have chosen this place even thought that there are better options in the same location. we were travelling with a 3 yo and 8 yo and our 2 grown-up... all of them enjoy every part of it. clarification on the washroom - we didn't have any issue about the smell. it was minimal. the bed was reasonably comfortable and rooms are clean. slippers are provided, will be good to bring your own. would go back again in difference season for different experience.
    Holly
    ae

    Review score

    10
    27 August 2018

    A truly unique, beautiful and relaxing place to stay in perfect location for treks to the Great Wall

    The Flower Yard is beautifully decorated and has all the comforts needed to make you feel at home. The hosts are incredibly kind and went above and beyond to help us planning our trek to the Great Wall! We would highly recommend this to couples, friends and family’s wanting a unique, authentic and relaxing experience.
    Richard
    nl

    Review score

    10
    24 August 2018
    A water cooker in the room would be nice, so you don’t have to bother the hosts every time you want some tea. They don’t mind, but you might.
    Angel and Tony have a wonderful quiet place in a small village only 10 minutes from Mutianyu Great Wall. There is a little,courtyard with just a few rooms that are really beautifully decorated. We were in the greater family room with the 4of us. They serve a delicious tailor made breakfast, wonderful teas and real espressos. They will also organize great tours for you. Our hi-light was the Jaikou hike: Tony will bring you to the other side of the mountains where you climb up to the wall. From there you hike for 2 or 3 hours over the old and origina parts of the wall; sometimes overgrown, sometimes crumbled to pieces, always impressing and with a beautiful view. Eventually you arrive at Mutianyu, take the cable car down and get picked up by Tony. Wonderful hosts in a wonderful hotel.
    Kathleen
    au

    Review score

    10
    16 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    es

    Review score

    9.2
    3 August 2018
    The owners of this small but nice and cozy hotel are the kindest. They prepared a very complete and tasty breakfast before driving us to the base of Mutianyu Great Wall and took care of us all the time during our stay. If you want to visit this section of the wall, this is the place.
    Giuseppe
    it

    Review score

    8.3
    31 July 2018

    Definitely recommended! Not limited by country location

    The only thing is that the A/C could be a little more powerful perhaps. We were a bit too warm in the hot and humid night..
    Angel and Tony were very welcoming, helpful and friendly with us. We stayed at their nice and cosy place, with the lovely courtyard and the room, small but so stylishly painted and furnished! The breakfast was good and, above all, Tony was really kind to drive us around to the Great Wall site, the city for dinner and when we left. He went the extra mile. It's a quiet, clean and safe place in the countryside, where one needs a taxi or a very kind host to move around. :)
    Lars
    dk

    Review score

    9.6
    17 July 2018

    Worldclass Hospitality

    nothing
    Its a wonderful family, who just got a new member. Angel and Tony got their first child. A beautiful princess girl. And i should not forget oskar. It fells like home and the family run hotel goes out of their way to make you fell like this and completely without being invasive or not letting u do your own thing. They just there as a family if u want. Tons stayed up all night to watch the football wc semi final with us and also give u so much information and hospitality, that u fell u have been friends forever. And exploring the wall right next to their home is wonderful. The best feel good place we have been to in all china. GO
    Mary
    us

    Review score

    10
    8 July 2018

    A beautiful, unique, and unforgettable experience. Hospitality at its best.

    The Flower Yard owners, Tony and Angel, were magnificent hosts! They took care of everything for us, leading to a stress-free adventure. Tony and his driver picked us up from the airport and drove us to hike the Great Wall of China. Tony was a gracious and humorous guide; it felt like we were hiking with a friend. Afterwards he escorted us to his friend's restaurant where we had a magnificent meal. Angel made a lovely breakfast in the morning before we were driven back to the airport. Everything went as planned and I couldn't have asked for more gracious, friendly, and helpful hosts! Also, Tony's artwork makes the property particularly beautiful and unique. If you are looking for a one of a kind experience when visiting The Great Wall, I highly recommend the Flower Yard!
    LJ
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    3 July 2018
    Tony was an exceptional host and went out of his way to make our trip to the Great Wall magical! He took us to some fantastic restaurants. He drove us to the Great Wall, organised everything for us and then came back to pick us up when we were finished. Truly superb!
    Nicola
    gb

    Review score

    10
    30 June 2018

    Flower Yard by Great Wall

    Nothing
    It’s been said many times before but I cannot review Flower Yard without praising the delightful Tony and Angel. So warm and hospitable they will ensure you have a great stay in this tranquil place away from the bustle of Beijing. The room was beautifully decorated by Tony with many artefacts from Chinese opera and a stunning washbowl with floral design. The courtyard has an ancient tree surrounded by fragrant gardenias. We stayed two nights which enabled us to visit the Wall twice and see it from 2 different perspectives. Tony will take you where you need to be, organise your tickets and collect you. If you are fit and want to walk 6 km up and down along the wall he can take you to jiankou section for an extra fee as it is a long drive and pick you up at the Mutianyu end near Flower Yard. We will treasure this extraordinary time in our lives
    Lukas
    de

    Review score

    8.8
    13 June 2018
    - shower and toilet slightly too small - dust under the bed, but generally very clean
    - great hosts and services - top breakfast (individual choices) - driving service to chinese wall and spots around (e.g. we did cherry picking with our kids) - ornate interieur and exterieur - the dog ;-) - their friends restaurant (chinese dishes modern, appealing and very tastefully interpreted)
    Emma
    in

    Review score

    9.6
    29 May 2018

    Amazing and cosy guest house close to the great wall.

    -
    We loved staying at Flower Yard. Tony and Angel are incredible hosts, who went out of their way to make are stay very comfortable. The guest house is situated in a beautiful area, close to the great wall. The hosts showed us around and organised a wonderful hiking trip to the great wall. Breakfast was absolutely lovely and so was the restaurant around the corner.
    Alexiane
    sg

    Review score

    10
    22 May 2018

    Amazing !

    Angel and Tony are the greatest hosts ! they really took good care of us and we felt home the whole stay ! Thanks a lot !!
    José Emiliano
    es

    Review score

    10
    14 May 2018
    Owners are very familiar and friendly. Rooms and toilets are very clean. Bed confortable. Close to the hotel there is a fantastic Chinese restaurant. They approach you to Mutianyu Great Wall, buy the tickets and wait for you in the parking, a perfect service.
    Ane
    es

    Review score

    10
    14 May 2018

    Wonderful stay!!

    Our stay in Flower Yard was amazing. The location, the hotel and the room were great. Tony and Angel, the owners, and Oscar, the dog, were very nice to all of us. Tony drove the car to the Great Wall and waited for us to finish the visit. We will definitely come back!!
    Gaëlle
    cn

    Review score

    10
    7 May 2018

    Hapiness & welcom

    What a marvelous place. When you cross the door of this hotel, everything welcomes you. Angel and her husband, the garden with the beautiful roses, the tree in the middle of the place. You feel immediately home. The room is nicely decorated, the beds are comfortable. At any time, you will receive good advices for the dinner, the breakfast, kung fu show, professional driver, etc. Angel loves to share good time with her visitors. It's a fantastic place. I warmly recommend.
    Rebecca
    sg

    Review score

    9.6
    22 July 2018

    An authentic Chinese style stay with wonderful hospitality from the lovely owners Tony and Angel.

    The kind and caring hospitality of owners Tony and Angel. They greeted us and took us to a lovely eating place after we arrived late. The next day Tony drove us to the Great Wall entrance after a delicious and hearty breakfast and purchased our tickets he even collected us after. He drove us to a restaurant that night that was cheap and delicious and helped us to order and collected us later. Tony also drove us the bus stops and wrote down the buses and trains required to get to our next accommodation stop in Beijing.They also gave us tips for out other travels in China. The rooms were very clean and tidy and authentic of China. I would recommend for anyone tasty here if there are visiting the Great Wall.
    Patrina
    sg

    Review score

    10
    9 June 2018

    A must stay place!

    This place is awesome! Quaint, eclectic and very clean! The owners are super nice and very helpful. They speak good English too. They have a 100 year old chestnut tree in the yard. Bonus : they have a 1.5 year old local breed doggie named Oscar who's super super playful. Good place for families, for groups, for anyone! Definitely a must to stay when you visit Mutianyu Great Wall!
    Nicolas
    cn

    Review score

    9.6
    4 June 2018

    Felt like staying with friends for the week end

    This a quiet place, cosy, nice looking courtyard built with love by their owners. Tony and Angel made us feel like we were staying at a friends place for the week end. There are several great wall options around, few restaurants, fishing spot if you are not it. We'll be back
Loading reviews